Terms & Conditions
Wine sold to you is sold in California and title passes to you, the buyer, in California. The buyer is solely responsible for shipment of wine. We make no representation concerning your legal rights to ship or receive wine into any state outside of California or into any country outside of the United States. In fact, there are certain states and countries that we cannot ship to. By placing an order, you authorize us to act on your behalf to engage a common carrier to deliver your order to your selected destination.
You must be 21 years or older to buy wine. By placing your order you certify under penalty of perjury that you and the recipient are at least 21 years old. When the wine is delivered, the recipient will be required to show identification proving that he or she is at least 21 years old. The willful misrepresentation of your age or the age of the recipient is a crime in most states. Carrier redirect or return shipping fees for changes to shipments already processed in the system will be applied to your account.
We are committed to your complete satisfaction. By California and Federal law, we are unable to accept returns of alcoholic beverages unless the product is physically damaged. If you are ever unhappy with your order or somehow your wine shipment has become damaged please call us at 805-226-9455.
We ship Monday through Thursday. Sorry, delivery on weekends is generally not available. In the event of extreme temperatures your shipment may be delayed to protect it from heat/cold damage.
We may currently arrange shipping on your behalf to the following U.S. states:
District of Columbia
|South Carolina Tennessee